+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: 12v Power Outlet Not Working

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Western Australia
    Posts
    26

    Default 12v Power Outlet Not Working

    Hey,

    The power outlet in the centre console of my DB ES limited is not working!
    I thought it might be a fuse, so I checked under the hood and there is one fuse missing with the symbol 'A/T'. Does anyone know if this is the fuse that is responsible for the power outlet? If not, which one is the right one?
    Any other suggestions on fixing this up is appreciated.

    thanks!

  2. #2
    WaRLo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    New South Wales
    Posts
    29

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by absolute View Post
    Hey,

    The power outlet in the centre console of my DB ES limited is not working!
    I thought it might be a fuse, so I checked under the hood and there is one fuse missing with the symbol 'A/T'. Does anyone know if this is the fuse that is responsible for the power outlet? If not, which one is the right one?
    Any other suggestions on fixing this up is appreciated.

    thanks!
    Hey mate, usually all the fuses are installed already. It sounds like maybe your fuse has blown, in the 380 models im pritty sure that the fuses under the bonnet are for the ECU. The fuses your looking for are under the steering wheel if you sit on your drivers seat with the drivers door open look down near the right hand side of the steering wheel near where the door is fitted on there should be a small hole saying pull outward,pull that out and you should see your fuse box with a few spare fuses and a neat little tool to pull the fuses out with, im not sure what the 12v power outlet is labeled with but im sure someone on these forums can help ya with that.
    Last edited by WaRLo; 14-08-2010 at 07:51 PM.

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Western Australia
    Posts
    26

    Default

    Thanks warlo, I'll take a look at that now

  4. #4
    Its always this! SH00T's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Queensland
    Posts
    4,316

    Default

    Has it ever worked? Its most likely disconnected or loose.
    If friendly Forum Advice has saved you Time or Money, Please consider a Donation to keep the Forum Running.

    The Goblin and the 380

  5. #5
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    International Member
    Posts
    1,573

    Default

    If you can't be bothered fault finding just run a single strand of wire to the positive to the radio etc.

  6. #6
    Sparky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Queensland
    Posts
    3,283

    Default

    Um I wouldn't do that because a ciggy ciruit is rated for 15a and a radio ciruit is rated for 10a. So powering two high ciruit could blow your radio fuse or worst melt wiring or a fire So I see it a bad idea, check your fuse box and see if there a loose wire
    Last edited by Sparky; 15-08-2010 at 08:39 PM.
    1992 Mitsubishi magna

    QMD Fursuiter

    Im always in TROUBLE no matter where I am.

  7. #7
    Owns an Aurion :D the_ash's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Western Australia
    Posts
    1,092

    Default

    if the fuses dont solve your problem then a common fault on many modern cars is caused by the fusible link incorporated into the back of the outlet, if something has shorted the socket out then this can blow leaving the fuse intact.... guess they want people to come back after the warranty expires

  8. #8
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    International Member
    Posts
    1,573

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Sparkington View Post
    Um I wouldn't do that because a ciggy ciruit is rated for 15a and a radio ciruit is rated for 10a. So powering two high ciruit could blow your radio fuse or worst melt wiring or a fire So I see it a bad idea, check your fuse box and see if there a loose wire


    Show me a radio that uses 10A.......

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Western Australia
    Posts
    26

    Default

    Thanks everyone for their input,
    it was just a blown fuse

    Reaplaced it and it's working as normal.

  10. #10
    WaRLo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    New South Wales
    Posts
    29

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by absolute View Post
    Thanks everyone for their input,
    it was just a blown fuse

    Reaplaced it and it's working as normal.
    Great mate, good to see you got it all sorted!

+ Reply to Thread

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts